Author Topic: Extreme Oil usage  (Read 3028 times)

December 29, 2016, 12:28:17 PM
Read 3028 times

FootDoc

• View Profile
Since I've had my SJ (MY13) my oil consumption has been, in my opinion, unusually high. As I'm new to the brand I figured its perhaps a forester thing, but after my last service I decide to take note of just how much I put it. It was last serviced in May this year and since then i have put in 2 pints in July, 1 pint in September, 1 in October and 2 pints a day before Christmas.

To me, this is not normal, what do the more qualified/experienced guys say??
2013 Forester 2.0X

December 29, 2016, 01:49:59 PM
Reply #1

LoopSoosStroop

• View Profile
So that's 3 litres in how many km's? 10k km? What km's are you on now? Has the car ever overheated?

My SG XT burnt 5 litres every 10k km before I rebuilt it. Definitely not normal but manageable.

The problem is that the only way to fix this is to rebore and fit oversize pistons and rings. Just standard size pistons and rings might help, but if extreme use is present then unlikely. Either way, that means the motor will be pulled and stripped almost entirely. 

There is a theory that when these motors overheat the rings bind up and the oil control rings pretty much stop working. My motor, besides having oval bores, had badly stuck oil rings. I'm not talking seized overheated, just HG's or radiator blowing maybe.
2007 XT AT
Midrand - Gauteng

December 29, 2016, 01:56:32 PM
Reply #2

LoopSoosStroop

• View Profile
Oil consumption is not always the end of the world, but it becomes a pain to keep the oil clean and in good condition. When oil is burnt, you end up having less of it to go around, so the remaining oil works harder and is circulated more often. Obviously topping up helps, and shortening the oil change interval.